Tuesday, October 7, 2014

For the fans of dogs!

If you are like me and you see a dog in a movie, you immediately want to know if the dog is going to be okay. I don't want to watch anything where a dog dies. And now there is a website for dog lovers called Does The Dog Die.

And here is a great graph, which I perhaps shared here another time, for book and dog lovers.

8 comments:

  1. Well, I'm glad to know I'm not the only one who wants to know the fate of the dog (or cat or actually any animal in a story). I have been known to read ahead in a book to find out if the dog is ok at the end. If it dies, I at least want to steel myself up for it. Thanks for sharing this with all of your animal loving readers.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh, my husband and I feel the same way. If we're watching a show on TV and anything bad happens to any animal, we immediately turn it off. Thanks for the link to Does the Dog Die!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Absolutely true! We were watching the movie Marley and Me, but didn't finish it, though we liked it very much, because it was obvious that the dog was going to die and we couldn't deal with it.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Very funny! Some years ago I had the great pleasure to hear Jim Trelease (The Read-Aloud Handbook) speak. He talked about the same thing--if there is a dog on the cover, chances are it won't make it to the end of the book. One fantastic exception to that rule is Kate DiCamillo's Because of Winn-Dixie. I'd recommend that book for ANYONE who loves brilliant writing with characters readers come to love. It's a Kleenex-worthy book, but the dog lives. Sue Sirgany

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'm the same - if animals are part of a book or film, I hate it when they die, but I don't have the same problem with the human characters. Does that make me a bad person? Even if it does, so be it; it just makes me really sad.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Me, too. I don't know why an animal's death bothers me more. Maybe because in a mystery (my main reading) the death is expected. I read a book where a cat dies at the end (non-fiction), and I did make it through but I cried a lot.

    ReplyDelete

I am really going to try and respond to your comments as soon as they come in! Please do come back if you've asked a question.
Also, you may comment on any post, no matter how old, and I will see it.